Rider Highlight with Blue Gates Stables | Zume Gallaher


Rider Zume Gallaher with Blue Gate Stables is an incredible rider who I saw for the first time this winter at The Desert International Horse Park in the Grand Prix Ring. As a petit rider she has amazing power and a powerhouse of horses in her stable. Check out more to learn about Zume, who I know we will be seeing a LOT more of in the Grand Prix Ring.

Where were you born and raised and where do you live now?

I was born in a very small village in North Vietnam. My birth mother was blind and it was difficult for her to take care of me. When I was about a year and a half old there was a severe drought, my village had to give me to an orphanage because there wasn't enough food. After about 6 months in the orphanage, I was adopted by a family from Sonoma County in Northern California. With two biological girls as well as two adopted boys from Korea and Peru, I joined quite a large and loving family! Recently, I moved to Carlsbad to be closer to my horses at Tristar Farms in Del Mar.

When did you start riding and why?

I started riding lessons when I was 5, but before that, I used to go to the local park every week to ride the ponies they lead you around on. I was obsessed with them and wanted to go every day that my parents would let me. They eventually decided I should start lessons at the local pony school, I've been riding ever since.

How many horses do you have and do you have a preferred breed?

Currently, I have five show horses in Del Mar and then my rescue mini horse who lives up in Sonoma County. My grand prix mare, Edita is so special to me. I’ve had her for just over a year, but she’s already taught me so much. She’s all heart, incredibly brave, and a blast to ride!

Certain is my other grand prix horse, he’s my go-to man. He lives up to his name, I can always count on him to get me around the big tracks safely.

Minko is one of my younger horses, and you can always spot him because of his beautiful silver tail. We’ve been showing in the 1.30m classes but are looking to step into the 1.40m when show season starts up again.

Daisy is one of the newer members of the team and our first time showing was in Thermal this year. She and I are still getting to know each other but I’d like to do the small grand prix's with her down the road.

Then there is the newest addition, Cyrus. The plan is to do a few grand prix's with him this season and really spend time getting to know him. I’m definitely excited for the future with him.

The smallest member of the team is Sheba, my mini that came from Little Hooves Rescue. She's living the dream up at my parents’ ranch with my mom’s horses. As for a preferred breed, I don’t think I have one. I’m happy as long as the horse has a great mind, can do the job, and we get along!

What is your favorite workout routine outside of the barn?

I don’t often get the chance to workout outside of the barn with all the time it takes to work with 5 horses each week, but when I do find a little free time to workout I like to keep it simple. Some stretches, a little strength training and a bit of cardio.

If you could choose to only show on the West Coast, the East Coast or southern Europe, which one would you choose and why?

That’s a hard question for me, since I’ve only shown on the West Coast. I would love to go to WEF and MET Oliva Nova looks amazing as well. If I had to choose, I would probably say West Coast just because the weather is amazing, and we get to show on grass so regularly!

Follow Zume on her journey in the Grand Prix ring @bluegatestablesllc

Other posts you might like
  • Instagram

Los Angeles, CA  .  ©2020 Life Equestrian  .  EquiTerre, LLC